top of page


  • Writer's pictureWill Britt

Virginia Racers Put on Show

By Jeff Bartlett

The Virginia Racer Late model class rolled into Dominion for their second set of twins on the young season. At the end of the night when the dust settled, there have been four different winners in four different races. Last year the Virginia Racer was dominated by Ryan Matthews who won 10 out of 18 races. Even though it is still early, it appears there will be more parity within the division.

Ryan Pritt (22), Jason Pittman (51) and Mike Ganoe (82) at Dominion Raceway

Richard Storm won the pole to kick off the action narrowly beating out Alex Brock by .003. Storm drew a four for the invert putting Eddie Slagle on the pole for twin number one. Last weeks winners, Nick Leitz and Brock rolled off second and third. Leitz fell off the pace only three laps in and wound up finishing last. Slagle survived three cautions and led flag to flag to pick up his first win of the year. Rounding out the top three were Mike Ganoe and Brock.

Following the mandatory invert, Pete Sullivan started on the pole and the second 35 lap twin was more of a demolition derby at times than an oval race. Two cautions flew before the first lap could be completed taking out almost a third of the field including Brock, Slagle and Leitz. Once they finally went green and were able to start racing, it looked as if Sullivan may accomplish what Slagle did in the first twin and go flag to flag for the win. However, Ganoe was able to pick his way through the carnage and come back from seventh starting position to complete a last lap pass and pick up his first checkered flag of the year. Sullivan came home second and Brock picked up his second third place finish on the night after his crew worked hard to get him back out after the altercation.

Virginia Vintage Racers at Dominion Raceway

The Virginia Vintage Racing Series made its first of two stops at Dominion on Saturday night. This is a touring series that requires all cars to be a 1980 or earlier body style for asphalt tracks and they are all about putting on a great show for the fans each week and having fun. They did not disappoint Saturday night as Josh Roberts won for the Modified group and Sparky won for the Sportsman Group. These cars are back in action at Dominion on August 20th.

In the Modified division Wayne Hartley ended a long winless drought by holding off Kayla Surles to take home the checkered flag. Peyton Ferree started on the pole after the invert and appeared to be the car to beat, but an engine issue with eight laps to go ended his night and gave the lead to Hartley. Surles did everything she could to get to and pass Hartley, including giving him a solid bump in turns one and two on the last lap, but Hartley gathered the car back in and went on to get the win. Surles was second and Mike Carte was third.

In other action, Cameron Ruggles got his first win of the season in the UCAR division going flag to flag and holding off Dallas Cosby and Mike Chapman.

Saturday the 23rd will have the Geico Late Models back at the track for twin 60 lap features. Also in action will be the Dominion Stocks, AnyCars, as well as the INEX Legends and Bandos. Gates open at 5 pm and the green flag drops at 7 pm. Tickets are available at and are $2 cheaper online than at the gate.


bottom of page