top of page


  • Writer's pictureWill Britt

Kitzmiller Takes Two

Kitzmiller Takes Two

By Jeff Bartlett

The Super Cup division kicked off its 2022, 18 race season with its first of two stops Saturday night at Dominion and Jason Kitzmiller started the season off on the right foot taking home the win in both 60 lap features. Kitzmiller finished third last year behind points champion Ben Ebeling and Bob Schact.

Ebeling took the pole in qualifying over Kitzmiller by only .013 setting up what looked to be an epic battle for both features. 14 laps in though, Ebeling and Kevin Kromer tangled in one and two and Ebeling was never able to get back to Kitzmiller to force a challenge. Kitzmiller drove away and took the first checkered of the year with Ron Langdon and Brent Nelson rounding out the top three. Ebeling was able to finish in the fourth spot.

Feature number two saw Kitzmiller roll off third and Ebeling fourth, but a caution before the completion of the first lap, collected Ebeling and his night was done. Kitzmiller needed 28 laps to catch and pass Nelson who was able to stay close to Kitzmiller and looked like he may pose a challenge, but a right front tire issue cost him that opportunity. Kitzmiller would go on to win the second feature with Langdon and Nelson, who battled back after the tire issue, third.

The Super Cups are currently scheduled to be back the first weekend of October for their next to last weekend of 2022 competition.

The Virginia Racer late model division had a 35-lap feature that saw Mike Ganoe hold off Alex Brock to become the first two-time winner in the division this year. Brock took the pole over Richard Storm, but the invert put Ganoe in the number one spot and Brock third. With the exception of a caution on the first lap, the feature went clean and green, and it looked as if Brock might have something for Ganoe in the last handful of laps, but Ganoe was able to hold him off and drive away to a two car advantage to take the win. Brock was second and Nick Leitz came home third.

In the Modified division, Kayla Surles picked up her first win of the year leading from green to checkered with no cautions to dominate the feature. She became the fourth different driver to win in the division this year. Wayne Hartley and Mike Rudy rounded out the top three.

In other action, Mike Chapman won the UCAR feature, and John Andrews won the Any Car eight cylinder division.

Next Saturday the Geico Late Models are back at Dominion for twin 60 lap races and the Dominion Stocks, Mini Stocks, Mini Cups and four cylinder Any cars are also in action. Gates open at 5 and racing starts at 7.


bottom of page